Cleaner Take on Beef Stroganoff


Okay there’s no beef….. or noodles…. or sour cream…. but I PROMISE it hits the same craving points as beef stroganoff 😂

Hear me out. In my quest to eat cleaner I try to avoid processed carbs as much as possible! I can’t avoid pasta at all times but when I can substitute a potato for a noodle I find that very doable.

I also cook with ground poultry over beef whenever I can.
In this cleaner version of beef stroganoff I’ll substitute noodles for potatoes, ground beef for turkey, and sour cream for low fat yogurt.

I will not substitute deliciousness. It will be so yummy!!!


What you’ll need:

1 pound ground turkey

6 medium sized potatoes peeled and cut into large chunks

1/3 cup Greek or lowfat plain yogurt

1/2 can beef consommé

1 can cream of mushroom soup

Beef bullion cube

1/2 onion

1/4 bell pepper

Mushrooms (if desired)

Frozen peas (if desired)

Rosemary

1 minced clove garlic

**if you want to be a little healthier use less cream of mushroom soup. Up it to 3/4 cup yogurt (or low fat sour cream) and 1/2-1/3 can cream of mushroom 

  1. Boil your potatoes until tender with a beef bullion cube (not too tender you don’t want them to fall apart)
  2. Brown turkey, onions, mushrooms, salt and pepper, and rosemary until cooked through. Add garlic
  3. Stir in consommé then yogurt and cream soup until smooth.
  4. While hot and bubbly add peas
  5. Serve over potatoes



Leave a Reply

