Stuffed Pepper Soup

It’s a chilly day here in NC! Definitely a good day for a delicious healthy bowl of comfort soup.

Today I decided to make stuffed pepper soup. My husband isn’t a fan of stuffed peppers so it’s something I can only make when I’m cooking for other people. So I decided to try the soup version a few years ago and it totally worked. It’s got all the flavors there to satisfy my craving and he doesn’t mind it! 

This is my healthier version. I use ground turkey. It’s also delicious with ground beef. I swap them out where I can get away with it. To me the beef consommé adds plenty of rich flavor without needing to use beef!


Campbells beef consommé is actually my secret ingredient in almost anything beef based. Well, secrets out. 

First chop up your pepper and onion. Start browning them in a little olive oil, salt, pepper, oregano and red pepper flakes.


Once your meat is thoroughly cooked dump in your diced tomatoes. Let them simmer for a few minutes until you see the tomatoes produce a little more liquid.

Add in the beef consommé, a pinch of sugar, a cup of water and about 1/2 a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar.


Let this cook on low for as long as you can! The longer it cooks the more tender your peppers will be and the soup will have more flavor. 

This is also a good time to do a taste test. If you think it needs something more add in a beef bullion cube.

You can also get your rice ready. You’ll need a cup of cooked rice. Add it just before serving!



Serve with garlic bread. I made mini garlic biscuits to go with ours tonight.


My 3 year old loves it! 

Stuffed Pepper Soup Recipe:

Ingredients:

1 can beef consommé

1 pound of ground beef or turkey

1 bell pepper chopped

1 small onion chopped

1 can diced tomatoes

1 minced clove garlic

Apple cider vinegar (1 tsp)

1 cup cooked rice 

Salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, oregano and a pinch of sugar

  1. Cook your meat with the spices, pepper and onion.
  2. Add can of diced tomatoes, garlic and cook down a bit.
  3. Pour in beef consommé and a little shot of vinegar. Let this cook for an hour or two on low. If in a hurry you can cook on a higher heat until peppers are tender.
  4. Add cooked rice just before serving 

Thanks for reading

    God bless 

    Leave a Reply

    