Have you ever had pork chop stew?

This is my version of one of my dads recipes.
At a glance it seems like an odd combination but it all comes together beautifully and makes a super yummy stew!
This meal always seems to get me through a cold day. A great one to leave on the stove all day long and fill the house with the best fragrance!!

IMG_3458
First I get my veggies prepped ( in this meal I’d say the more ruggedly chopped the better)

Next I’ll put my chopped veggies in a pan to brown with a pinch of kosher salt.

IMG_3459
After my veggies have a decent glaze I’ll lay the chops over them and season.
Now I pile on my canned veggies.. Tonight I’m using a bag of corn we picked, shucked, blanched, and froze over the summer. It still tastes so fresh and sweet. But like I said in ingredients I’d normally use 3 cans.

IMG_3463
I’ll let this boil for a little bit, lower heat and let it simmer on down.

IMG_3466
Now make some noodles … In the mean time turn up the heat and throw on some fresh chopped broccoli. Don’t stir! Just cover and let it steam on top of the soup.

IMG_3478
Feel free to stir and enjoy! Serve over egg noodles.

IMG_3481

Recipe:

Ingredients

4-6 bone in pork chops

Large can whole tomatoes

1/2 cup beer

1/2 cup Apple juice

3 cans corn

Egg noodles

Cajun seasoning, salt, onion powder, and paprika

And really any other veggie you have on hand. My husband loves fresh broccoli and carrots.

  1. Brown your chopped veggies with a fat pinch of kosher salt
  2. Layer your pork chops on top of the cooking veggies
  3. Cover the meat with all those yummy seasonings
  4. Now pour in your canned or frozen veggies, apple juice and beer. If needed add some stock or water to get your liquid level equal to the meat.
  5. Bring to a rolling boil for about 8 minutes. Then lower heat and simmer for a few hours. The longer the better.
  6. Right before serving cut that heat back up to a boil to steam the brocolli on top!

Serve over egg noodles, rice or for a low cars option just eat it by itself like a yummy sucqatash pork chop stew!!

God bless

Leave a Reply

